WK 7- Artist Conversation – Juliana Bustillo & Tidawhitney Lek

Artist: Juliana Bustillo and Tidawhitney Lek

Exhibition: “Doodles in Space”

Media: Installation, Mized Media

Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Marilyn Werby Gallery

Instagrams: @tidawhitney,  @juliaanaaaab

 

In this exhibition, there are actually two artists that worked on this piece. Both Juliana and Tidawhitney are Cal State Long Beach students and are both working on getting their Bachelors in Fine Arts and Drawings. Tidawhitney wants to continue her education after graduating and want’s to get a Master’s degree over on the East coast.  Both of these artists like to draw and due to their similarities, they set forth to have a collaboration on this project. Juliana was born over in Texas and then moved back to California and was raised in Los Angeles. Tidawhitney was born in Long Beach, California.

IMG_6749

When I entered the room. I realized that there was a lot of paper in the exhibit. I felt like I saw a lot of paper and probably some wire to hold up the heavier pieces of paper. I saw many different types of patterns When I was in the room, I noticed the lighting which had a certain vibe. It felt like I was small in a room full of space. It felt like I had a lot of color and I was just in a room that was just, plain. Every step I took, I just saw more and more paper in different positions and different patterns. I saw checkered patterns and crumpled paper too.

In this exhibit, I realized the title is “Doodles in Space”. As people who love to draw, they like to doodle. Doodles are usually things that are drawn just because or have a spontaneous idea on the spot and want to draw. I could tell that this is a “space” because I felt isolated and felt like I was in a different world. That world would be the world of the artists. I felt like I was inside their head and I could understand what they were thinking and wanted to do. They wanted to change the dimension of their doodles and play around with what they could do. The creators got to be creative with their drawing by changing the aspects and how big they wanted it.

When I entered the room, I didn’t know what I was looking at. I just thought of the contrast between white and black, light and darkness, yin and yang. I felt that there was a balance of the colors and the patterns used in the room. I felt that everything was supposed to be in balance and I felt calm in that space. The room made me think I was in space for a time because there was not a lot of color. I tried to understand what the patterns were for and I just came to the conclusion that it was cool to be able to integrate the patterns. But to conclude, I just think that there was balance with everything and how in life there is always a balance with everything.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

